Primitive Rug Hooking ~ in Miniature!

dresses5

One of a kind collection – Set of six hand hooked vintage style dresses

More of my hookings are at this link — https://sweetcottagecharm.wordpress.com/2009/08/01/primitive-rug-hooking/

It has been a while since I did any rug hooking, but now that I’ve started again I remember how much I enjoy practicing this lost folk art!   These six pieces are likely the smallest miniature hookings ever created!   Each dress is a mere 3 inches tall.

To start, I built my own lap frame, and then took very thin strips of wool and hooked them onto a Scottish burlap cloth base.  Backs are finished with blanket-stitched felt.

I always use my own patterns which are drawn directly onto the burlap.  These tiny vintage style dresses offer a unique display when hung directly on the wall with their tiny handcrafted wire hangers.  The six look especially nice when grouped together inside a large wood frame.

These are currently listed in my Ebay auctions – see link at right.

dresses1

dresses4 crp

dresses6

Dresses in progress showing burlap base…

dresses aug15 in progress 002

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Primitive Rug Hooking ~ in Miniature!

  1. Pingback: PRIMITIVE RUG HOOKING « Sweet Cottage Charm

Leave a Reply

